Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Brand New Canon 5D body for $1199?
Luminous Landscape Forum > Equipment & Techniques > Cameras, Lenses and Shooting gear
m_klee
Hello,

I'm wondering if anyone has experience buying product from expresscameras.com? They seem to have rediculously low prices and I'm wondering if it's too good to be true?

Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks, Matt
marcmccalmont
QUOTE (m_klee @ Jan 18 2007, 01:40 PM)
Hello,

I'm wondering if anyone has experience buying product from expresscameras.com?  They seem to have rediculously low prices and I'm wondering if it's too good to be true?

Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks, Matt
*

It generally means no; battery charger, manual, Canon usa warranty, strap, manual, software, cables etc etc just a grey market body wth everything else removed.
Marc
E.J. Peiker
Always always always check ressellerratings.com...

If you read about this company, you will see that they are a scam outfit:
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Express_Cameras
m_klee
QUOTE (E.J. Peiker @ Jan 18 2007, 06:32 PM)
Always always always check ressellerratings.com...

If you read about this company, you will see that they are a scam outfit:
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Express_Cameras
*



Wow, I read the report at resellerratings and was amazed at how awful this company is. Thank you very much for saving me from a total nightmare. I guess the saying is true about things being too good to be true.

Thanks again,
Matt
jjlphoto
"If it's too good to be true......"

There was a post on another forum about a fellow who thought he had gotten the deal of the century, the Canon 200/1.8L for $1600. Not only was it a bogus deal, he fell for the line about getting a better deal by emailing the seller direct (outside of eBay), and was directed to do a Western Union transfer to a fraudulent escrow company (that was even listed on eBay's fraud altert companies)
jecxz
http://donwiss.com/pictures/BrooklynStores/h0020.htm

Always a valuable reference. Good luck.
pcrov
If it seems too good to be true, it's probably fine.
Maddog
That is like 1000 to 2000 cheaper then every one else. I would be very uneasy about it.
If I could pay with Paypal or something that I knew I could get my money back if it wasn't a described. Sometimes with credit card etc it take to long to get your money back. That is how I got my 70-200 F4.0 it was real cheap and wasn't sure about the company But I payed with paypal and every thing was just Great New Lens New US warranty etc.
Maddog
digitaldog
About 6-7 months ago when I was buying my 5D, I also saw some incredibly low prices and wasted my time trying to 'get a deal' only to find the unit was either missing important items as discussed or was gray market. If the price seems way too good to be true, compared to say B and H or Midwest (good guys) etc, then pass and go to a reputable dealer. Its not worth the hassles and you are usually dealing with sharks.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.